Message from the President…

First of all, I would like to thank all of last year’s CAG officers and committee chairs for the time and effort that was put into helping the CAG meet its purpose of promoting art in our community. This includes Carolyn Madsen, Brandi Dayton, Anna Tewes, Jasmine Nahorniak, and DiAnn Acevedo for their outstanding leadership, as well as all the committee chairs with special mention for the heroic task that Norma Eaton and Doyle Leek made in leading the Clothesline Sale effort.

As you may have noticed, this year Harold Wood has volunteered to become the editor of Brush Strokes newsletter and he will be implementing the proposal that was made last year for developing both a hard copy as well as a Web-based version of the newsletter. So I also want to offer a special thank you to Barbara Story who has done such an outstanding job as editor for the past several years.

Looking forward, there are a number of changes that have been already discussed and that will be addressed by the board this coming year with the aid of focus groups. Maureen Frank has already taken the initiative of creating and sending out a survey regarding future programs and other changes. Some of the preliminary inputs include support for focus groups, more educational programs and less “business”, expanded membership and the need for a strategic plan.

So there is much to do and I am looking forward to a very productive and fun year.

Mike Bergen, President